top of page
RC .jpeg


Rune Christiansen (b. 1963) is a Norwegian author. He has written ten critically acclaimed novels and several volumes of poetry since he made his literary debut in 1986 with Where the Train Leaves the Sea. In 1996 he was awarded the Halldis Moren Vesaas prize. In its grounds the jury said that Christiansen’s body of work holds a unique position because it exposes a new phase in modernity in Norway with its «tough but sensual masculine urbanity, not alienated from, but integrated with the elements, the shiftings in nature, transience and permanence». Christiansen has stated that “literature borrows its authority from wanting”. He characterizes his books as “transient rooms where oblivion and recognition illuminate and amplify each other as equal and simultaneous events”.


Literary Prizes and honors:

2023 Prix Transfuge du meilleur roman étranger

2019 Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres

2015 Gyldendalprisen

2014 Brageprisen

2009 Riksmålsforbundets Litteraturpris

2007 Osloprisen

2003 Doblougprisen

1998 Språklig samlings litteraturpris

1996 Halldis Moren Vesaas-prisen

1994 Oktoberprisen


bottom of page